It didn't take me long but I did it. Over here you don't see many police sitting on the side of the road with a speed gun. I think I have only seen them parked twice so far in over two months. What they do have are cameras. I've been told that not all of them work but lucky me, I drove by a camera that works.
My offense: driving 35 in a 30.
The options are a little different than they are back home. The letter, sorry, the NOTICE OF INTENDED PROSECUTION (a little harsh I would say), does not state a fine to pay. I have a choice- I can tick the box that indeed it was me driving the car and wait to get my fine in the mail. The fine could range from £90-£140. After paying the fine I would incur 3 points against my British license. Since I don't have a British license yet, the points would wait patiently until I do and they would go on my record with a heavy insurance premium to boot. By law, I have to get my UK license by this time next year.
OR option #2-
I can tick the box that says yes it was me driving and I will take a 4 hour safety course. Taking the course would take away my points. Just so all is fair - the course cost £95. I've spoken to a few British friends about this and they say- definitely take the course- do not get the points. Hiss, boo, hiss, boo!!
All of this for going 35 in a 30 zone. Gobsmacked!
wow, that's crazy! glad they haven't rolled out that technology in the States...
ReplyDelete